top of page
Search
  • kaylaelmore

Farmers' Market in Thermi

Updated: Jun 17, 2019

Every Saturday for a few hours, there is a farmers' market in Thermi. It is only a short bus ride from our school and is our go-to place for coffee and bougatsa cravings. A couple weeks ago, some of the people from our group were able to go to this market and only had great things to say about it so I was very excited to finally be able to go this weekend. I also love going to the farmers' markets in Burlington, IA and Des Moines, IA and wanted to see the similarities and differences between them. When we first arrived, it was hard to tell where it started and where it ended as it took up multiple streets and there were people walking in every direction. However after walking down an isle or two, I quickly came to the conclusion that you could have the most random shopping list and still be able to find everything you needed at this market.


Besides having fresh fruits and vegetables, there was also household cleaning supplies, toys, candles, candies, baked goods, shoes, underwear, and other clothing items being sold. I also did not expect there to be multiple chilled cases filled with cheese and meat products. We found a large variety of fish, octopus, mussels, crab, squid, shrimp, whole rabbit, chicken breasts and animal organs. Being able to see this wide variety of seafood was my favorite part because its not something I get to experience every time I go to the grocery store back in the States. My other favorite parts included honey and beeswax products and, of course, the succulents!! I had no business looking at all of the "1 euro" succulents since Sophie, Zoey, and I already have 20+ at our house, but thankfully, I had self control today and walked out with only a bag full of strawberries for 1 euro :)


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page